New Schedule + Plus What I’ve Been Up To!

Hey Guys.  Long time, no post… I know.  Last time we spoke, it was Halloween and it was nice outside, there were leaves on the ground, and I was feeling refreshed and ready to get back into a semi-regular blogging schedule here on my new page (goodbye, Quick, Healthy, Delicious, hello Donut Dietitian!).  So, that didn’t happen.  Holiday season started, I picked up more hours working, and blogging took a spot on the back burner.  I’m hoping to update you all with healthy meal ideas, my food and fitness adventures, and all things health and wellness at least once a week.  One of my favorite healthy food bloggers, FANNEtastic Food, did a virtual coffee date post, and I’m going to steal this idea to update you all on the past few months!  Coffee dates are one of my absolute favorite things, so you should feel honored that I’m inviting you to join me on one! 🙂

If we were having coffee today I’d tell you that…

  • As of the new year, I’m in full training mode for the Kentucky Derby Marathon.  While my goal is just to PR at 26.2, I really really want to run a sub-4 hour race.  It’s a very challenging goal, but one that I’m serious about.  3rd marathon’s a charm, right?  My friends Mary and Katie (<their first marathon!) are training with me this time around and we decided to join the Queen City Running Club.  Love the added motivation that running with friends brings.  I’ve had other friends join me on running and fitness adventures this year too, which is awesome.  We ran just under 9 hilly miles in Eden Park this past weekend at a really comfortable, long-distance run pace.  Felt great!

    IMG_9469

  • I wish I had time to cook more.  I know, I know, I hate time being an excuse too.  I cook when I can.  My work schedule has me on a lot of later evening shifts, meaning I typically eat dinner at work, which involves a packed sandwich of some sort.  I’ve been really into mashing avocado with tuna to make a “tuna salad of sorts.”  However, this means I’ve been more creative with lunches since I’m often at home in the kitchen around 11am.  My most recent obsession are taco stuffed sweet potatoes.  I season ground meat or black beans with taco seasoning, clean out the veggie drawer, and stuff inside a microwave-cooked sweet potato and top with guac or salsa and a bit of shredded cheese.  So delicious.

    IMG_9390

  • I’m still looking for a permanent, full-time position as a registered dietitian.  While I love my connections in the community that allow me to teach nutrition, food safety and work with individuals, I still desire the consistency full-time employment could provide me (from hours, to money and experience).  For now, the majority of my income is still made working in Logistics at Nordstrom.  I continue to remain thankful that while I undergo the job search in the competitive Cincinnati market, I have a very stable source of income that provides me with a flexible schedule allowing for nutrition work on days off and before scheduled shifts.
  • I’m taking a really cool free, online class on Food Systems in the United States through Coursera and Johns Hopkins University.  It’s fun to have assignments, lectures and videos to review each week.  Any free opportunity to broaden my perspective on food and nutrition is an opportunity I’m always ready for.
  • I’ve been enjoying my favorite treat, donuts (in moderation), obviously!  Pictured below was a really tasty one from my favorite donut shop, Holtmans.  It was iced in orange and black for the Bengals playoff game, which we unfortunately lost.  It was delicious.
    IMG_9394
  • We went on a family vacation in Florida.  This was the first time in years all my siblings and my parents were free during the same week.  We went to the Palm Beach area where my grandma has her timeshare.  The weather was overcast the 4 days I joined them so not the best beach weather, but great for running outside and swimming in the heated pool!  I got in a great swim (in the rain, I felt hardcore), and an awesome 4 mile run at a pretty quick pace.  The last day we were in Florida, we decided to road trip up to Orlando to hit up Universal Studios–specifically with the Harry Potter experiences in mind.  As every great dietitian knows, treating yourself to a delicious cup (or two) of butterbeer is an absolute must.

    IMG_9436

 

Thats all for now!  Thanks for reading and I’ll be back with more food, fitness and wellness focused posts soon.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

