Running at 5 AM + fun breakfast idea

Hi friends!  It’s Thursday and almost another week is in the books.  Can you all believe it’s February?  Hard for me to comprehend considering the 50 and 60 degree weather we’ve had here the past couple of days.  I’ve been keeping busy on the fitness front, with the marathon officially less than 3 months away, things are feeling more real.  I’ve been trying to get some good runs in to help me prepare!  Monday I did a slow and easy shakeout run of ~4 miles; my hamstrings were still a little sore from Saturday’s long run.  Tuesday was certainly the warmest day of the week so I was obviously looking forward to my Queen City Running Club track workout.  We started out with a 1 mile warmup on the track and then with our pace groups, we began our workout of 4-6 yasso 800’s.  Unfortunately, we only got 4 in because the workout got cut short due to rain / lightening.  Major bummer.  We still got in just under 4 miles though so I’ll take it.  I also decided to try out crossfit this week.  More on that another day.

IMG_9532.JPG

This morning, my friend Maria and I decided to try out a 5 AM run.  One of my new years resolutions was to get back into a routine of at least one 6 AM workout a week.  I’ve been trying to ease back in to my old habit of pre-dawn fitness but it’s been tough.  When Maria said she needed to do this run at 5 I was a little skeptical because I had always told myself 6 AM was the craziest I’d ever get, but hey, I can try everything once.  For February, the weather couldn’t have been better–it was 34 out which I can’t complain about considering how early it was.

One thing I love about early morning workouts is the feeling of accomplishment you have after; every time I work out early, the day goes better.  Plus, the streets are perfectly quiet and peaceful, allowing you with time for your thoughts to focus on knocking out a workout.  Before you know it, you are done, showered, the sun is up, and you’ve accomplished more than many people do before lunch.  The neighborhood I live in is very runner friendly, so there were actually quite a few people out running this morning too.  Between the motivation from fellow neighbors and chatting with Maria, 4 miles flew by!  I can’t say I’m a pre-6 AM runner yet, but we are certainly going to try and do this once per week.  Thanks for the motivation, Maria!

IMG_9533.JPG

After the run, I had a cup of coffee and a peanut butter and jelly breakfast cake, which I shared on instagram the other day.  I stole the idea from this photo a fellow blogger I follow, Yeah…Immaeatthat, shared.  I made a few small changes to the recipe, but overall, highly recommend.  It was filling and certainly hit the spot!  Check out how I made mine.  This concept is obviously open to experimentation, which I love because I’ve never been an exact recipe kind of cook.  Mix the ingredients in a bowl and then microwave until done.  For me, that took 2 and a half minutes.  I will note that applesauce or pumpkin would make great substitutes for the banana.

2 TBSP rolled oats
2 TBSP coconut flour
1/2 over ripe banana, mashed
cinnamon
pinch of baking soda
4 tablespoons milk
1 egg white
1 TBSP peanut butter (+ extra for topping!)
1 dash vanilla extract
top with fresh berries and jam

IMG_9530

Who else is a fan of early morning workouts?  What tricks do you have to get out of bed before the sun comes up?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

