Yes, I Post A Lot About Running. No, I’m Not Sorry.

Happy Friday everyone!  I wanted to share my thoughts on a seemingly controversial issue with you all.  Posting about food and fitness on social media.  Many of us have done it (or observed our social network doing it).  I’m obviously guilty!

IMG_9615

Let’s think of it like this:  we all have hobbies in life; things that make us happy.  So often, I find myself wanting to filter my posts on social media to avoid annoying my friends, family, and loyal followers.  Does this ever happen to you?  Thoughts race through my head such as, “I posted a picture of a meal I ate yesterday, I don’t need to today,” or “Nobody really cares that I ran 13 miles.”  All of those may be true, but today is the day WE stop worrying about whatever people think, and focus on OURSELVES.  I recently came across this article which essentially says many things out loud I never have (and also inspired me to write this post).  When I share a run, or a great meal I prepared, I am not doing it to brag.  I am not trying to say I’m a better cook than  you, or superior to you because I ran a marathon.  I am simply sharing the things that make me smile throughout my day; things I am proud of.  Maybe, just maybe, we’ll even connect over love for a recipe, a favorite place to workout or even become running buddies (<which has happened).

12715596_10153465789723391_2608836278829404335_n

My life consists of two main things, food and fitness.  You might post a lot of cat pictures, because besides your work, your cats are your true pride and joy.  Someone else might post tons of photos of the canvasses they paint, because that is their hobby.  I’m fine with that.  We don’t ever go, “How annoying that their good at painting.”  The normal response is usually, “Wow, they are certainly a talented artist.”   Besides work, the things that make me happy are food and running.  These are the things that I choose to share.  My point is though, that more often than not, we look at the things people post and see them in a negative light, coming to assumptions that the individual is an egotistical, attention seeking person, when in reality, we should applaud them for being open enough to share the things they are excited about and proud of.  So as I get in to sharing my food + fitness highlights, I want to be clear that I’m not sorry to be sharing them with you.  I’m excited to share the things that made me smile this week, and maybe even inspire you to smile from being more active too.

IMG_9617.jpg

Monday was a nice relaxing day off work.  There was still tons of snow on the ground from Sunday evening’s snowstorm, but with the temperatures climbing, it wasn’t too cold for a nice, peaceful snow walk (hike).  After, I hit up CrossFit and did this workout.  It was actually a lot of fun.  I took it easy on weight to avoid upsetting the twitch in my back, but I realized after I took it too easy.  Reminder to self:  push harder next time.  Photos above!

IMG_9630.PNG

Tuesday evening was my Queen City Running Club workout.  However since I had a non traditional weekend (I had Tuesday off too!) I decided that I would treat myself to some lunchtime yoga at Body Alive to stretch out before.  I was really disappointed with this class.  The heated element of the room wasn’t working, which helps relax your muscles to get a really deep stretch.  The instructor was also trying out odd sequences with us, and none of them were really great for stretching from a running perspective, and most were skills too advanced for me to truly participate in.  Such a bummer.  However, I had a really great time running Tuesday evening.  We did about two miles to warm up, and then did mile repeats around the triangle by the Bengals stadium.  I felt as if I could push faster, but I really enjoy the company of the group, so I stuck with them.  After, we had a beer + pizza happy hour (pictured above).  6.6 miles on a Tuesday?   2nd beer earned!

Wednesday
‘s workout doesn’t leave much to say.  I had a Greater Cincinnati Dietetics Association event after work so the only time to squeeze in a run was 5am.  Ooof!  I got 3 quick and easy miles in and was definitely glad I did.  The event was totally worth the early wakeup call.  The speaker was the Cincinnati Reds RD, Michelle Macedonio, who is well known for her work in sports dietetics.  It was a great lecture!

12662678_10153471613633391_1093395914783866314_n

Thursday, my work friend and I hit up 6am CrossFit.  Never any regrets from these early morning workouts!  This one was tough.  I was definitely feeling it later.  We even worked on deadlifts again, and guess what?!  My form definitely improved because my back is not sore this morning.  🙂

Today, the plan is to put off my run as long as possible before I have to head off to work.  I wanna make sure I get to enjoy some of that 50 degree weather!  For breakfast, I ate one of these No Bake Peanut Butter Granola Bars with some fruit.  It’ll make some great pre-run fuel!  Tomorrow is my long run, but since it’s a down week, we only have 9 miles on the agenda.  Plus, I can’t wait for the predicted sunshine 🙂

IMG_9609.JPG

Who else plans to spend some time outside this weekend?  Tell me!

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

