Easy Single Serve Microwave Cinnamon Roll Mug Cake

Does the title of this post intrigue you?  Well, good!  It should.  This recipe is the best combination of a dense, cinnamony (is that a word?) cinnamon roll, combined with the effortless nature of a mug cake.  And the best part?  I made it with pancake mix!

IMG_9768

So as I share this recipe with you all, I want to apologize in advanced for the poor photo quality.  Photography has always been a skill I want to improve on, but for now, you’re stuck with this.  Hope it still makes you hungry.  

IMG_9771

So this is by no means an advertisement for Kodiak Cakes, but it is my favorite boxed pancake mix because it is made with 100% whole grains and good for you ingredients.  It’s a store bought mix I can get behind and definitely is a staple in my diet.  Helllloooo pancake obsession.  Anyway, I knew it would be good for a microwave baked good of some sort and now we are here discussing this recipe.

IMG_9766

This cinnamon roll mug cake is dense and just sweet enough.  It doesn’t have much sweetener mixed into the actual batter because when I eat breakfast, I don’t like overly sugary things (who’s with me?!).  Plus, when we’re talking about balance, I’d rather save my super sugary sweets for fun treats and desserts.  However, there is plenty of cinnamon and brown sugar for the topping so you still get a sweet kick.  From start to finish, you’ll be enjoying this recipe in just under 5 minutes, depending on how quick you can whip up the ingredients and of course the logistics of where you store things in your kitchen.  I enjoyed this as a lazy breakfast while I watched the news on Easter Sunday (and recovered from a 20 mile training run) and it hit the spot.  I enjoyed it with banana and a drizzle of peanut butter but obviously it would be good with ALL THE TOPPINGS! 🙂

IMG_9770

You guys, great bloggers think alike.  Kylie from Yeah…Immaeatthat shared an incredibly similar recipe yesterday.  You should try both!  But mine first, because I wrote this post Sunday.  

 

Microwave Cinnamon Roll Mug Cake for One
Serves 1

Ingredients:
1/4 cup Kodiak Cakes mix
2.5 tablespoons milk (any kind will do)
1/2 tablespoon maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon oil (any kind will do)
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Recommended toppings- banana, peanut butter, nutella, berries, greek yogurt, walnuts

Instructions:
Combine pancake mix, milk, maple syrup, vanilla and oil in a bowl.  Batter should be moist and dense (not dry).  In a second bowl, mix the brown sugar and cinnamon.  Grease your favorite coffee mug and pour in the batter.  Pour brown sugar and cinnamon mix over the batter.  Using a knife, swirl in the cinnamon sugar.  Microwave for about a minute and twenty seconds.  Serve as is or enjoy with your favorite breakfast toppings (suggestions above!)

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

