Food and Fitness Highlights + Simple, Tasty Dinner Idea

Happy Thursday everyone!!  In less than 24 hours, I’ll be getting on a plane to join Anne and the rest of the CabotFit team for a Cherry Blossom 10 Miler filled weekend in Washington, D.C.  I am so excited to head back to the nation’s capitol.  It’s been almost a year since I interned with Food Directions and I’ve missed D.C. every second I’ve been gone!  The weekend is going to be packed with all sorts of food and fitness adventures so I’ll be sure to report back next week. 

IMG_9783.JPG

Notable fitness adventures this week started out Sunday afternoon.  It was a nice day out, so I decided to join my mom and sister for a walk at Smale Riverfront Park.  The weather was amazing, as were the views of the river, and clearly dozens of other individuals had the same idea because the walking paths were packed!  It certainly felt good to shake out my legs after Saturday’s 20 miler.  I think the dogs had a great time too.

IMG_9782.jpg

Monday started out with a shakeout run.  My muscles were still pretty sore from Saturday so I really kept the pace slow to ease in to the run.  I tried to find a flat course and completed 4.75 easy miles.  After, I had a pretty intimate date with my foam roller.  Totally necessary and let me tell you it makes all the difference. Monday evening’s highlight was a spontaneous late dinner at a new to me local Korean restaurant Stone Bowl.  I tried Korean Bi Bim Bap for the first time because our server told us the stone bowls are what they are known for and it was quite tasty.  We were both hungry so we decided to share the seafood pancake appetizer which was unique and delicious as well.  My friend Maria’s ramen really looked amazing too!  The service was excellent here so I’ll definitely be back again.  Next time for the ramen!  It’s always fun to try different cuisines.

IMG_9784

IMG_9788

Tuesday morning started out with a quick arms / shoulders workout in my apartment followed by some foam rolling.  After work, I met up with my training group for a 7 mile hill workout.  Ooof!!  It was a tough one but a good one with some nice variations in elevation.  7 miles, done!  At a pretty good pace too.

FullSizeRender

For dinner, I threw together a super quick and fun weeknight meal.  I pan seared a piece of tilapia in some grill seasoning for a few minutes on each side.  While that cooked, I toasted up some whole wheat pita triangles in the oven to serve as my grain for the meal and threw together a quick slaw of carrots, cabbage and spinach.  From start to finish, I probably spent 15 minutes in the kitchen and ended up with a super tasty, colorful meal that really hit the spot after 7 miles!

IMG_9790.jpg

Wednesday morning was an early one, but started out in one of my favorite ways!  I hit up the Blue Ash Recreation Center for my favorite P/E class and the workout was a good one as always.  It’s always nice to mix it up and see some familiar faces in class.  I wasn’t planning on doing anything else Wednesday because I had to teach a nutrition class at dinner time, however when I got home, I had a lot of pent up energy from sitting all day and decided on whim to knock out 2-3 miles.  The weather was absolutely incredible and it was nice to stretch my legs before plopping down on the couch.

 
  
Tonight after work, the plan is to check out the weekly fun run my training group organizes.  They meet at Braxton every Thursday night and lately, I’ve been working during these meetups.  However, since I started my new job this week, I’m finally free.  Crossing my fingers the rain lets up for a good run later!  Nothing better than knocking out some miles and enjoying a refreshing, local beer after.  Hits the spot every time.

Coming at you next week, recaps from the race and D.C. adventures.  Stay tuned folks!  Is anyone else running the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler?  Any advice or tips for the race?

 

Leave a Reply

