Recent Eats + Fitness

Hi Guys!  Hope everyone had wonderful weekends celebrating with Mom!  I certainly did.  I went over to my parent’s house yesterday morning and surprised my mom with a simple but tasty brunch–bacon + egg breakfast sandwiches and fruit.  Delish!  I had been craving breakfast tacos, but these still hit the spot.  Mom was surprised too.  I caught her right after she worked out so I couldn’t have timed this meal better.

  
Sunday was pretty rainy, but Saturday, the sun was shining all day.  Running buddy Mary and I made sure to meet up with Queen City Running Club for the kickoff workout of summer training.  Considering Saturday was 1 week post-marathon, we were both very happy with our pace for this quick 3 miler.  Perfect way to start out a weekend.

  
Random thought regarding Saturday morning’s run…  so it was in the upper 60s to low 70s and there was a woman wearing a full blow track outfit (jacket + matching pants).  I was sweating just looking at her outfit.  When people over dress in the heat for runs, I get confused.  Do you guys have a go-to rule of thumb for how you decide what to wear for runs?  Tell me.  I’ve been told I under dress  when it’s cold and over dress when it’s hot!  (Insert thinking emoji here).

  
Earlier in the week, I received my first Blue Apron box!  After seeing so many positive reviews for the service, comparing it to other services, and overall liking their menu options the best, I decided to sign up.  I like the flexibility of being able to cancel my weeks whenever I chose to with Blue Apron.  I live alone so the 6 meals I receive through the service lasts me longer than a week so I don’t need a delivery more than 1-2x per month.  It allows me to mix up my meals from my standard routine, without wasting too much food or over spending.

  
The first recipe from the box I prepared was this Udon Noodle Stir Fry with Shitake Mushrooms.  It took maybe 20 minutes to prepare and was a nice way to mix up my regular dinner routine of chicken or fish with whatever veggies I had in the fridge.  Loved the shitake mushrooms in this recipe too.  I had green beans in the fridge so I added some to the mix to up the veggie volume.  Worked perfectly!  I had leftovers to enjoy all weekend.  I ended up getting 3 meals out of it.  Awesome.

    

Last thought on my mind relates to Kodiak Cakes!  Who else is obsessed?  I remember when they were on Shark Tank and now they’ve become a pantry staple for me.  I picked up their new flavors at Target this weekend and had to try them out.  The peanut butter mix wasn’t my favorite.  It didn’t have as strong a flavor as you’d expect.  I still felt the need to drizzle peanut butter on the cakes themselves.

  
However, the chocolate mix combined with the peanut butter mix was heavenly.  Topped with a banana and more peanut butter?  Perfect way to start a Monday after a drizzly 5am run.

  
Who enjoyed the Sunshine this weekend?  Thoughts on appropriate running attire?  What is your go to garment for running?

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Recent Eats + Fitness

  1. Kathy R says:

    My sister has always told me to go by the 20 degree rule – dress like it’s 20 degrees warmer than it really is. I try to adhere to that – but this morning when it was 50, I couldn’t bring myself to put on shorts – which is what I would wear for 70 degrees. Compromised with capris!

    Like

Leave a Reply

